The Barlaston First School Governing Body is made up of representatives from the staff, the parents and the community. Governors are elected from the relevant bodies, arranged by the Head Teacher.


Our governors are all volunteers and bring their own personal experience and enthusiasm to the role of governor. They have regular meetings and strive to help develop high standards of education for the children and also ensure that financial resources are being managed appropriately.


All our governors are given safeguarding training and although they are not required to have any particular educational expertise, they are expected to be committed to the role and offer challenge or support when needed.


Currently our governance roles are composed of 100% White British.


If you’re interested in becoming a school governor and would like to be involved in this rewarding and worthwhile role, please get in touch with the school at


Governing Body Members 2023-2024



Register of interest


End of Office

Mr John Gordon


Head Teacher


1st Jan 2025

Mr Gordon Taylor

Chair of Governors

(LEA Governor)


8th Feb 2024

Miss Ceri Sproson


Co-opted Governor


13th May 2025

Miss Alison Dando


Foundation Governor


8th Nov 2025

Mrs Gillian Sands


Foundation Governor


13th Sept 2025

Revd Canon Stewart Jones

Foundation Governor


20th Nov 2025

Mrs Sarah Broome


Co-opted Governor


24th Sept 2024

Mr Jon Eardley


Parent Governor


8th Feb 2026

Mr Adam Peel Staff Governor None 31st Aug 2026

Mrs Sharon Clarkson


Co-opted Governor



19th Sept 2027

Mrs Noosh D'Avola Parent Governor None  

8th Dec 2027

Mrs Sophie Johnston Parent Governor None   8th Dec 2027